Roll Call Records

Roll Call Records

Latest News

Stand Up, Speak Out, Be Heard - The Bluegrass Situation shares op-ed from River Whyless 7 March 2017

The Bluegrass Situation have shared an insightful op-ed piece from River Whyless on the message they hope to spread with their recently released video for their cover of CCR's 'Fortunate Son'.

You can read the full piece here and watch the video for 'Fortunate Son' below.

"Do we continue down the path of least resistance or do we learn from our mistakes? Will we be able to look past party lines, gender, sexuality, race, and class in order to return our partisanship to its proper context, which is not, after all, winning for winning’s sake. Rather, the context of our partisanship is much larger: It ought to fall somewhere among or within our commitment to generosity and humility.

By capturing footage of that march and putting it to our rendition of Creedence Clearwater Revival’s “Fortunate Son,” we in River Whyless hope to both emphasize and celebrate the power of active political engagement, to relate CCR’s original moment, back in 1969, to this moment, as a way to emphasize its significance. It’s time for everyone -- on the left and the right -- to stand up and demand from our government the things we all deserve. We don’t all agree on who deserves what and why, but we do agree that we all deserve to be heard."

-- Alex McWalters, River Whyless

Roll Call & Turntable Kitchen Present: SXSW 2017 2 March 2017

Roll Call has joined forces with Turntable Kitchen to present a showcase at this year's SXSW in Austin, TX. The show will take place on March 15th at Maggie Mae's Gibson Room, featuring performances by The Dig, Night Drive, Molly Burch, River Whyless, Dude York, and Active Bird Community.

RSVP now to let us know if we'll see you there! You can listen to music from the full lineup on Spotify here.

SWIMM announces Love You Down fest 1 March 2017

SWIMM have announced their upcoming Love You Down fest — a one-night-only event taking place on April 8th at The Hi-Hat in Los Angeles.

The mini-festival will span across two stages, and will feature live performances from SWIMM and six other local artists, plus DJ sets from Gardens & Villa, Jenny Lee (of Warpaint), and KCRW's Aaron Byrd. You can peep the line-up for the whole night down below.

Tickets on sale this Friday, March 3rd, at 12pm PST at $15 a piece.

Click here for more info and be sure to pick up your tickets ASAP! You won't want to miss this.